The Endless Search…

Not too long ago someone brought it to my attention that it had been quite some time since I posted a blog.  I started thinking about the frequency with which I used to post.  I was on it for a good three years.  I reminded myself that although some of my posts were moving and/or introspective pieces (as evidenced here, here, and here) they were mostly mundane everyday rants (as evidenced here, here, and here).

In keeping with the latter I’ve decided to share the true misery that I’m encountering at the moment with my search for the perfect coat.  I must admit that there’s a small part of me that is using this public forum to coat-shame myself – think photo of cute dog with a funny sign around its neck.  I’ve provided a picture below for those of you who aren’t familiar with the dog-shaming phenomenon.  Note that the dog and I favor a bit…pointy nose, black (with some caramel swirled in), a bit demur, a bit deviant, and slightly malcontented, but I digress.

dogshaming

My coat shaming sign would say this:
I own four winter coats and none of them fit me properly.  At least three of these coats I’ve owned for more than 9 years.  I try to make myself feel better by telling myself that it’s my ample bosom that is keeping me from being able to properly button my coats but the real reason is that I’m fatter than I was 9 years ago (which, by the way I’m okay with, during a span of nine years one should be able to gain a few pounds if one wants, however if one gains a few pounds then one needs to buy new coats – period!).

There, I said it.  If I had to pinpoint why it has taken me this long to purchase new coats it would be the following:

  • I don’t like shopping (I never have)
  • I can get by with what I have
  • and finally, there’s the there’s always next year factor

I don’t like shopping
I don’t love shopping because the coat in my mind never appears in the racks.  The coat in my mind is sleek and fitted.  It falls just so, it is super classic, the height of stylish but not trendy.  It’s a statement piece…It’s my ride or die coat for the next 9 years, give or take.  So, take for example the trench coat that I’ve wanted to get, in my mind the coat would look like this on me:

Screen Shot 2014-01-07 at 9.49.58 PM

In reality, in the crowded unappealing and poorly visually coordinated store, the coat would end up looking like this on me:

Screen Shot 2014-01-07 at 9.55.27 PM

And then, of course, I’m over it.  This is actually one of the very few times in my life that I wish I had one of those overbearing TV mothers that hates my ill-fitting coats so much that she just goes out and buys new coats for me.  But alas my mother treats me like the grown woman that I am.  Thanks Mom.  It really is a true blessing that you are not overbearing.

I can get by with what I have
Although my coat situation is annoying I can definitely get by with what I have.  Is that acceptable?  Do winners just aim for getting by?  NO.  But practical people also don’t spend their precious weekend time at malls or in stores when year after year, based on coat inventory, the buyers have just mailed it in when it comes to the DC market.  And that brings me to kicking the can down the road…

The “there’s always next year factor”
I always start to look for just the right winter coat, find nothing, and then tell myself that I’ll get through the next couple of winter months and wait until next year to find the perfect coat(s).

I really do have to do something about replenishing my coats and in reading what I’ve written here I realize that I’ll never find a coat believing that I’m the type of person that can’t find a coat.

Whether it’s my ample bosom (and slight weight gain over 9+years), my dislike of shopping, my get-by with what I have tendency or my inclination to kick the can down the road, I have to believe that I’m the type of person that will look fabulous in any coat.  I must re-program myself to believe that the search for a coat won’t be a haze and that the right coats are out there waiting for me.

Here’s to the search.  Wish me luck.

I send the best of luck your way with whatever you’re searching for this year.  Happy 2014.

– Much love

One thought on “The Endless Search…

  1. I love you Christina! I can totally hear your voice as I read this. I haven’t shopped for a coat in six years since I moved to LA, but I remember that yearly dilemma. I think I may still have those coats in my closet here.

    Good luck on your search!

Leave a Reply

