To the little things…

On a Saturday morning there’s nothing like waking up early and getting ahead of the city.  Getting up ahead of the crowds and traffic gives me the feeling that I’m enjoying something that the rest of the city is missing out on…that something is the beautiful city of Washington DC. 

I am definitely showing my age as I can remember a time, not to long ago, when waking up at 8 or 9am on a Saturday was considered blasphemous.   No one tells you that one of the hallmarks of aging is an internal alarm that won’t let you sleep late on the weekends!

I woke up early this Saturday and went to the apple store to get my iPad2 activated and to learn how to sync my iPhone to my laptop (which for now is a Dell).  It was a pleasant enough experience.  You know how the apple store seems to glisten and sparkle to the point where you feel like you could eat off the floor….as I sat in the sparkly/gleaming apple store I started thinking about how each of us changes. Some changes are monumental, some changes are subtle but each change reveals a bit about who we are. 

I remember when the first iPhone came out and I had no interest in it at all. There was something about apple enthusiasts that used to drive me up a wall – I thought of them as groupies. I became even more annoyed when I went to grad school and every single student in the class had a Mac. I would think to myself “don’t they feel like clones?”  I guess I was just a plain ole hater.  I also never liked the fact that the iPhone was tethered to AT&T. BUT there was always an inkling in me that if the iPhone was offered on my network I just might give it a whirl.

Long story short, I gave the Verizon iPhone a whirl and I love it.  I am actually shocked at how much I love it. And to add to my collection I was given the ipad2 for my birthday (which I am enjoying…this post was written on my iPad2).

It turns out that I’m well on my way to becoming an apple groupie AND surprise surprise – if you would have told me this two years ago I would have scoffed at the notion.

Ahhhh, what we think we know about ourselves!  What we think we understand about who we’ll be…how presumptuous of us! 

This new found attraction to Mac products is a surprise to me and I often say the best surprises in life come when you surprise yourself. But that’s one of the most exciting things about life- you never know what new thing you’ll pick up or what new interest you’ll find. Granted, apple products aren’t new but they’re new to me and that’s pretty damn cool…sometimes in life it’s the little things that count.

Here’s to the little things-happy Monday!

One thought on “To the little things…

Leave a Reply

