Hello, my name is Christina, and I still own a VCR

warning:  the following consists of a digital rant that borders on the ridiculous, but that’s ok.  all references made herewith are true.

So I’m sitting in a coffee shop, having a conversation with a gentleman friend when the barista overhears me say that I still have a VCR…the barista immediately gasps, breaks out in laughter and asks me if I still get into Beta/VHS arguments with my friends.  I looked at him and was puzzled – of course I don’t, none of my friends have VCR’s…but if they did, I would, and VHS would definitely win!

Does the fact that I still have a VCR (actually, it’s a dvd/vcr player) make me peculiar, or practical?  What about the fact that I still have a cassette player in my car and that I had the cassette player “specially” installed when I got my car (99/00 model)? 

I think that these things make me practical – a bit eccentric, perhaps, but mostly practical.  I mean, what if I want to watch my spring 2000 probate tape?  Or, what if I want to listen to the 2pac mix tape that I made for myself when I was in college?  I’m just supposed to give up that option?? 

All of this new fangled technology is to much to keep up with; take MP3 players…I spent three to four years building up a substantial music library on my iPod – most of you can attest to the fact that that process takes TIME…so I build up this library, all of a sudden my computer stops working and I get a laptop and there is NO easy way for me to transfer my music library from the old computer to the new, go figure. 

What the hell?  MP3s and other “advanced technology” are supposed to make my life easier, not boss me around.  What do I mean by being bossed?  One of my girlfriends was telling me how I could transfer my library, and I think my eyes glazed over after she said I could copy all 2,000 songs onto CD’s, and then physically put those songs on my new computer…and then blah blah blah blah blah! 

Enough of this nonsense.  I work all week, and the last thing I want to do is spend my time transferring music from one computer to the other.  It’s ok, I guess my iPod’s “new” music selection will stop at the Blueprint 2, and “Throw Some D’s on that B*tch”

DS Download:    I think my strong commitment to the VCR and the cassette player speak to my sound judgment and my ability to not hop on any fly by night trend…OR it makes me a dinosaur – BUT who’s judging???  I’m so glad this is a judgment free zone.

In all seriousness – aren’t some “technological” advances ridiculous?  Is there REALLY any use for Blu-ray?  Can you imagine the perfectionist that was sitting around, watching a movie and thinking…this movie would be so much more enjoyable if it was clearer…and people would be so thankful for a clearer picture (because the old ones were just SO deplorable <insert sarcasm here>) that they would abandon DVD’s and jump ship to Blu-ray. 

 Blu-ray can kick rocks.

I’m not a turn coat.  I won’t turn my back on something that’s been loyal to me for some flash in the pan technology, that’s just un-American (lol), and Blu-ray is too close to Blue Tooth in nomenclature, and I loathe Blue Tooth.

No, I won’t be turning my back on VHS, or the cassette player until I’m forced.  Unfortunately, I’m pretty sure that when I purchase my next car I won’t have the option of installing a tape player, but at least the tape player will know that I was there util the very end.

2 thoughts on “Hello, my name is Christina, and I still own a VCR

  1. I couldn’t live w/o a tape player in my car AND I have every intention of having one put into the next car I drive!!

Leave a Reply

