An Imaginary bar Fight with this Economy

I was going about my day yesterday, soaking up a rainy Thursday morning when I received an email from a close friend stating that they had been laid off. 

As I read the email, I felt as though I’d been punched in the stomach…punched in the stomach by an economy that seems determined to stick the country’s cheek in the dirt, while placing its proverbial foot in the backs of people from all walks of life.   

After I felt the air go out of my chest, I immediately felt the sensation to fight back – but fight back against what?  As a friend, I offered my comfort and certainty that my friend WILL BE ALRIGHT.  I am a firm believer that when a door closes, another one opens and that god is a way-maker…however, I know all to well, that when you’re in the midst of the storm, it can be hard to imagine a clear day. 

Inspirational speak aside, sometimes you just need more!  I needed to get even with an economy that is attempting to have its way with me and the people that I love, so the following is my account of the bar brawl that I had (in my head) with this economy, or Economia – as she will be referred to in my story:

…..I walked in the club ready to have fun and enjoy a nice night with my girlfriends.  HOP UP OUT THE BED PUT MY SWAG ON started playing and we all ran to the dance floor, we were having a great time until – out of nowhere – someone bumped into me and spilled their drink all over me and my friend.  My first reaction was to flip out, but I played it cool, the perpetrator said “I’m sorry” with a smug look on her face.  My friends calmed me down, and I thought my night was ruined until BLAME IT ON THE ALCOHOL came on and I got right back into party mode…I was feeling it, when all of a sudden a head full of hair slammed right into my face, I turned around and it was the same girl!…she looked at me indignantly and said, “my name is Economia and I’m not going anywhere, I run this dance floor, if anything, you can move!”…almost as if I was out-of-body, I watched my hand slap Economia’s face – she let out a Prince like shriek – as she was holding her face in disbelief I followed with the old shirt-over-the-back move, and a swift kick in the pants!  As Economia sat on the ground in sheer amazement, I pressed her cheek to the floor and said “this is what happens when you constantly mess with me and my friends”….at which point she responded… “the Dow Industrial Average indicates that I’ll be here at least through the first quarter of 2010”…I ignored the remark and left Economia there to think about what she had done, I was certainly in no mood to discuss the Dow Jones……

DS Download:  It was a good imaginary fight…never mind that back in reality I’m job hunting in the toughest market ever, while thinking of ways to start my own thing – but for one, brief and shining moment I got to kick Economia’s ass.  As my dad would say you can’t keep a good man (or woman) down!

Have a great weekend 🙂

2 thoughts on “An Imaginary bar Fight with this Economy

  1. Firstly, I’m sorry to hear about your friend’s job loss. Shall his or her boss be caught in Economia’s wrath next!

    Secondly, I laughed out loud and almost ROTF. Your imaginary fight was hilarious.

    Thirdly, I, too, hate the economy. I was in a textversation with my girlfriend, a few months ago. She told me that she had a meeting to attend and she’d BRB. Seriously, within 12 minutes, she wrote me back, “I just got laid off.” I couldn’t believe it. She’s a bad bytch, so she has stacks in the bank, and it wasn’t as bad of an impact on her. But keeping it real, a sista’s nest can get burnt quick, bad, and fast in these economic wildfires. Well, I’m happy to report that she started her new job yesterday, after humbly temping for a while. Tell your friend, the same fate, if not 10 times better, is awaiting.

    Enjoy your weekend!

Leave a Reply

