A Motto for Life

I checked my email on Friday, and found the following message from my father:

“Today I have on two different shoes, color the same, and style close.  So far only one person has noticed and I am taking them to lunch.  So this is the future.  Have fun!”

After chuckling, I called him to find out how this could have happened, his answer was – “keep living.”

My grandfather used to say that to me all the time – two simple words that explained, very succinctly, that if you live long enough you’ll come to understand and experience things that you never thought you would.

While my father was definitely not thrilled at the fact that he had on two different brown shoes, his heart had to be warmed at all of the times his father told him to “keep living.”  Somewhere up there, I’m sure my Grandpa got a kick out of the whole thing! 

There are things about our elders that we often don’t get – why they always want to take the back roads instead of taking a faster highway route, why they don’t like to travel and definitely don’t like to be away from home for long periods of time, and why in general, they just seem stuck in their ways.  The beauty of it all is that, if we live long enough, we just might find out.

DS Download:  Keep living!

2 thoughts on “A Motto for Life

  1. Christina

    Just wanted to compliment you on your blog, your writings truly are reflections of you and your family’s canon. Its always nice to read and relate to someone else’s realism, especially in this day and age where we care so much about the status of another, what someone is doing or “tweeting”. Your updates go much further and really make me envisage life, whether it be reflections of the past or applying your successes to thought or even evaluating the way I live. I am very much looking forward to future posts and stories.

    Jonathan is: Intrigued 🙂

    Funny todays post reminded me of an email that circulated around our offices last week.

    “A C-130 was en route on a mission when a cocky F-16 pilot flew up next to him.

    The fighter jock told the C-130 pilot, “watch this!” He went into a Barrel roll, followed by a steep climb, then finished with a sonic boom when he reached the speed of sound.

    The F-16 pilot asked the C-130 pilot what he thought.

    The C-130 pilot responded “that was impressive, but watch this.”

    The C-130 droned along for about 15 minutes then the 130 pilot came back on and said “What did you think about that?”

    The F-16 pilot asked, “What did you do?”

    The C-130 pilot responded “I got up, stretched my legs, went to the back poured a cup of coffee and took a leak.”

    For those that dont know a C-130 is a big airplane designed to carry freight & supplies.

    As we keep on livin our expectations change, sometimes life’s simplest tasks become our biggest luxuries.

  2. This blog was interesting. I have a father that constantly reminds me that I haven’t lived long enough to understand him. With some of his stubborn ways, however, like going to the doctor about some matters, I doubt I’ll never understand. On other matters, such as his obtuse thoughts on race realtions and wealth, I hope I never grow to understand from his vantage point. Some things, particularly some periods in history, leave some very hard bark on some people that they simply never seem to sift their way out of.

    But only hope to some day get away with wearing two different shoes. Even more, I hope I have the kind of relationship with my children where I can tell them about it. If my Dad did that he wouldn’t want to “keep living” for as long as he’d be having to hear about it from me! LOL

Leave a Reply

