Nobody Puts Baby in a Corner

The final scene in Dirty Dancing always delivers.  True to the 80’s movie format, it all comes together in the end and good triumphs over evil.  In this case the dancers show the Kellerman’s management team that they won’t be controlled – and Baby, literally and figuratively comes out of the corner.  Though, I would like to add that in the finale scene I don’t believe that baby had been “put” in the corner, in so much as she had chosen the corner…I digress.

The story line of Dirty Dancing is beautifully simple – dance can conquer all things.  I think it’s extremely important for us to remember that during these difficult times.

When I ask people if they dance, and they tell me they don’t, I’m definitely puzzled by that answer.  I often think, “hmmm, maybe I should rephrase the question – do you let the music move you?”  That’s what it’s really all about.  You may know how to do the cha-cha slide or the soldier boy – but if Kool and the Gang’s Get Down on It comes on, does your body automatically respond to the music?

DS Download:  There’s truth in dance, and the truth is that you own it.  It’s freedom of expression in its purest form.  It’s our way to be beautiful, and sensual, or our way to look absolutely ridiculous – regardless of who may or may not be watching.  Dancing makes a statement, it says; I’m going to be me and I don’t care what you think. 

In the case of Dirty Dancing, it says – I’m going to twirl around on stage, jump off of the stage, run full speed into a swan dive position that Patrick Swayze will hold me in until I want to come down. 

After a hard week at work, a night of dancing can give you everything you need to shake that load off.  You can go to the dance floor and leave it all there.  As long as you leave everything you have on the dance floor, it can be the only thing that judges you.  SO – If you’re planning to go out tonight, and you find yourself holding up the wall, stop and ask yourself “how would the dance floor feel about my behavior tonight?” – for, if the dance floor cannot be the  judge of you, what can?

Musical Recommendations:
 Old School:   Temptations, Treat Her Like A Lady
 New School:  DJ Fatha Julz – If you don’t know about DJ Fatha Julz, you need to get in.  Listen to some of his tracks at DJFathaJulz.com, then go to iTunes to get them on your ipod.  Some of my favorite tracks are Distorted, 8 Count Girl, Glamour & Glitter..the list goes on.  Ladies – 8 Count Girl will give you the soundtrack to the workout of YOUR LIFE. 

And if you listen closely, you’ll hear yours truly on the So Real track.

One thought on “Nobody Puts Baby in a Corner

Leave a Reply

