“Do You Know Who I Am?”

Believe it or not, I had yet another awkward encounter last week with someone who approached me with this odd question…odd because my blank return stare and complete lack of recognition seemed to provide the perfect context clues. Because this is a blog, a picture should go here:

(insert picture:  please check back shortly on this as I’m experiencing technical difficulty)

I know the people that I’m supposed to know, and I sometimes don’t remember the people that I’ve had distant encounters with – does that make a person a snob? Absolutely not…perhaps I could be blamed for forgetting a face, erasing part of my mental rolodex, or not taking my ginko BUT rest assured it’s not conceit. In the Daily Stride book of etiquette, the proper question is not “do you know who I am,” it’s “hello, my name is _____, I think we went to high school together – how have you been?”

DS Download: Use your context clues – a blank stare means that someone probably doesn’t recognize you, but there’s no harm in that. Spark up a conversation. It’s not about the past, it’s about creating an impression in the present.

2 thoughts on ““Do You Know Who I Am?”

  1. I totally agree with the daily stride of etiquette… hello, my name is _____!!! I can’t remember names of people, I met last week 🙂

  2. LMAO, because i was a witness to this incident. I have already given you my commentary on the issue. Just because you dont remember a person that you havent seen for a certain period of time doesnt mean that you are being rude if you give them a blank stare. It just means you are thinking in your head” obviously this person recognized or knows me and they stopped me…but dang i dont remember them”.

Leave a Reply

